National Infrastructure

The Catalyst Cloud provides OpenStack public cloud services in three regions of New Zealand, each in a different geographical location. Regions are data centres that are completely independent and isolated from each other, providing fault tolerance and geographic diversity.


For more information about our regions, please refer to our documentation.

Security certifications

The following table outlines the compliance and security certifications of each region:

Code Name PCI DSS ISO 27001 certified?
nz-por-1 Porirua Certified In progress
nz-hlz-1 Hamilton Certified Yes
nz_wlg_2 Wellington Compliant In progress

Access Control

All our data centres have comprehensive access control systems with multiple perimeters. There are security cameras covering all entrances and within the server rooms.

Power, Cooling and Fire Suppression

All our data centres have guaranteed power which is provided by UPSes and diesel generators. The diesel generators will start automatically in the event of a mains power failure. Our Porirua and Hamilton regions have redundancy for the power infrastructure.

They all have N+1 or better cooling systems and have gas flood fire suppression systems.

External Network

Each region is connected by our wide area network (WAN). Our WAN is built so that each region has multiple fibres which take diverse paths from a number of fibre providers to other regions. We have multiple Internet Service Providers to provide diversity and resiliency for our Internet connections.

Our Hamilton region is peered with the New Zealand Research and Education Network (REANNZ) via redundant 10Gbps circuits. This is available for use by all REANNZ members.

We peer with the Wellington Internet Exchange (WIX) and are reachable from the Auckland Peering Exchange (APE).